Coming off a four-day trip to Vegas for work and hedging my bets against all those germs by cleaning everything. Commuting to work always means taking a plane, and after spending some quality time in the enclosed metal tube, this time for four hours, I followed my usual routine of diffusing Purification and Thieves, two Young Living Essential Oils proprietary blends, along with the seemingly 5,000 other things I do upon returning home.

Disclosure and Disclaimers

Purification deodorizes and neutralizes the air and helps to uplift, calm and refresh the mind. Purification contains lemongrass, rosemary, tea tree, myrtle, citronella and lavandin essential oils. Thieves defends and protects, and as a dietary supplement, supports the immune system. Thieves contains clove, cinnamon bark, rosemary, lemon and eucalyptus radiata.

I apply my Immunity Booster roller to the bottoms of my feet every time I leave the house, like it’s my job. My Immunity Booster contains Thieves, Purification and oregano, along with a carrier oil. It’s one of the roller bottle blends I take with me when I travel. So, no surprise that I diffuse Thieves and Purification to get the airplane funk off me when I return home.

Airplane funk is perhaps best known as the origin of illness acquired through travel, but this last trip made me wonder if it also affects one’s coping skills.Like thinking bad thoughts about the four people who went out of turn, going around me to get off the plane faster, as I were struggling to get my luggage out of the bin. And continuing to think bad thoughts as I followed them through the airport to baggage claim. Application of Stress Away behind my ears and on my wrists upon takeoff is most likely the reason I didn’t act upon my bad thoughts. I don’t ever want to be THAT traveler. Stress Away is another Young Living Essential Oils proprietary blend that is in my travel kit. Stress Away is a blend of copaiba, lime, cedarwood, vanilla, ocotea and lavender essential oils. I use Stress Away every day, sometimes, more than once a day, as circumstances dictate.

So, diffusing Thieves and Purification once home helps rid me of the physical, mental and emotional remnants of airplane funk.

The day after returning home, I started to feel a bit more stuffy, like I might be coming down with something, or maybe it was just the dryness of Vegas. Either way, I upped the ante of remaining well by taking a capsule with Thieves, lemon, oregano and frankincense. These oils are all part of Young Living’s Vitality line, which is their newly expanded line of dietary-grade essential oils that can be added to food or used in capsules for supportive properties, such as my usage above. I’ve previously had success with this combination. Recent news has linked over-the-counter cold and allergy medications with cognitive impairment in older adults. I truly am thankful for a more holistic approach to deal with these and other issues without the aforementioned side effects.

It’s been 13 months since I started using essential oils, and I have not been sick in the past 13 months. Not sick. I know I’ve said this before, but really, it bears repeating, because ain’t nobody got time for that – being sick. But even I can find time to fit in a couple of swipes on the bottoms of my feet and to set up the diffuser.

Until next time, airplane funk gon’ give it to you. Thieves, Purification, that white gold.

L-R: Light and music show on Fremont Street, Vegas strip, Vegas strip from the tarmac, Lake Mead

Essential Oils Updates

Ain’t got time to be sick? Want to get rid of that airplane funk or some other issue? Message me, and I’ll do an oil map of recommendations for you. Feel free to peruse my Young Living Essential Oils site, as well.

Soap Making Class:  Let me know if you plan on attending my soap making class, Thursday, April 28, 5:30-7:30 p.m., at the Hobby Lobby in Murfreesboro, TN. I’ll need a head count to make sure you get your share of goodies: a bar each of lavender soap and lavender lotion bar, along with some handy packaging tips. It’s going to be a blast!